Class 2 - Homework


The topic for Class 2 is ‘Revolutionary or Rotten Romans?’ In school the children will be completing work across the curriculum which relates to this theme. Over the next two terms, Class 2 will be asked to complete their home learning as set out in the table below.


Home learning will be set on a Tuesday and I would like it back on the following Monday please. We will be sharing and celebrating the children’s work in class.

Term 5

Term 6

Date set

Home learning set

Date to hand in

Date set

Home learning set

Date to hand in

Tuesday 2nd May


Monday 8th May

Tuesday 6th June


Monday 12th June

Tuesday 9th May


Monday 15th May

Tuesday 13th June


Monday 19th June

Tuesday 16th May


Monday 22nd May

Tuesday 20th June


Monday 26th June

Tuesday 23rd May


Monday 5th June

Tuesday 27th June


Monday 3rd July


Tuesday 4th July


Monday 10th July

Tuesday 11th July


Monday 17th July


On the weeks where it states ‘topic home learning’ should be completed, the children can choose a piece of home learning from the list below. The topic home learning can be completed in any order:

  • Make up your own story, it can be about anything you like but tell it through Roman frescos.
  • Imagine your been whisked back in time to Roman occupied Britain. You have been allowed to take one person and one object from 2017. What and who would you take? Explain your choice.
  • Make a model of the Colosseum in Rome.
  • Write a diary from the viewpoint of Julius Caesar.
  • Write a diary from the viewpoint of Boudicca.
  • Investigate and produce a fact file about Hadrian’s Wall.
  • Investigate and produce a fact file about Chedworth Villa.
  • Make a catalogue of Roman fashions.
  • Make a model of a Roman soldier.

Times tables

Children will continue to complete their own individual times table challenge. The children need to learn the following tables (multiplication and division facts and missing digit question) to pass the following awards:

Bronze – 2, 5 and 10 times tables

Silver – 3, 4 and 6 times tables

Gold – 7, 8 and 9 times tables

Olympic Medal – all tables mixed

Championship Medal – 100 mixed questions

The children will be given opportunities during the school week to work on their medal but, of course, any support from home will be greatly beneficial.



The children will have a book which they should read independently each night and, where possible, an adult should hear them read and ask questions about what they have read to check their understanding at least twice a week. You will find possible questions to help discussions inside the cover of the reading records. Reading books will continue to be changed on a Wednesday and Friday.


I firmly believe that children learn well when there is a strong partnership between home and school. To make that link effective please also refer to the topic web.

If you ever have any worries or queries please pop in and see me.

Mrs Walton